RSS

Sausage-Lentil Soup

13 Dec
I would Really… no I mean REALLY,  love a great set of kitchen knives! My current thrift store collection doesn’t like to co-operate. They love to gather together in their warm wooden bed at night and conspire against me while I sleep. They face the side of the refrigerator that I pin up our daily menu on, so they KNOW what I’ll be attempting to slice/chop/open come tomorrow morning and they sure are ready for me!
I wonder to myself about these new knives that I drool over from the Food Network T.V. shows. I wonder.. ‘do sharp knives give less splatter when you’re chopping up an onion and that would mean less BURNING of the eyes!?’ Oh how I wish and dream that less eye poison would be true!

I have a loaf of bread in the bread machine to go with dinner tonight and the whole house smells like my Grandma Danson’s home used to smell to me… Although my house is missing the ‘Fresh Clean Cow’© smell!

I miss that too!!
Sausage-Lentil Soup
  • 1 1/2 c. dried lentils, washed, drained, and soaked
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped
  • 1 small onion, peeled and chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 1 lb. very lean smoked sausage or 1 lb. lean Italian sausage
  • 1 med. carrot, chopped
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • 3 cups water
  • 3 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. red wine vinegar
  • 1 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 small bay leaf
  • Pinch thyme
  • Salt to taste
Rinse then soak lentils in water for 3 hours or over night.
In large, heavy soup pot or kettle combine, garlic, onion, celery, carrot and sausage. Fry until sausage is cooked through, keeping the sausage pieces in big bite size chunks. Add lentils. Stir in beef broth, water, tomato paste, vinegar, paprika, pepper, bay leaf and thyme. Simmer, covered, about one hour, until lentils are soft.
Season to taste with salt and serve very hot.
Makes 6 servings.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2009 in Journal, Pork, Recipes, Soups & Stews

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Sausage-Lentil Soup

  1. Tom

    December 13, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    OH MY GOD!!! This was SO GOOD! You are the finest chef in the land.

     

Leave a Reply

