RSS

Fellin a Little Irish?

17 Mar

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day everyone! For as long as I can remember, the Irish have enjoyed sharing their holiday with the rest of the world whether they are Irish or not. At the moment, I can’t think of another holiday like that!

The only thing traditional about today’s supper will be that it was created frugally.

In the late 4th century,  Patrick had been kidnapped by Irish raiders who were plundering his wealthy family home in Britain at the age of 16. He was transported to Ireland and lived as a slave for six years in County Mayo until hearing God’s voice in a dream telling him it was time to leave Ireland. Patrick walked 200 miles to the coast. Upon returning to his parents home in Britain he heard a second voice this time an Angel told him to minister the Irish. Patrick went to seminary schooling for 15 years then returned to Ireland to convert the Irish.

Christ shield me this day:
Christ with me,
Christ before me,
Christ behind me,
Christ in me,
Christ beneath me,
Christ above me,
Christ on my right,
Christ on my left,
Christ when I lie down,
Christ when I arise,
Christ in the heart of every person who thinks of me,
Christ in every eye that sees me,
Christ in the ear that hears me

– Saint Patrick, from his breastplate

What warms my heart about Saint Patrick is that he too struggled and like Jesus, invited the lower classes to be near him. He held no airs above anyone and understood the Irish people.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2010 in Journal

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Fellin a Little Irish?

  1. Erika Walerstein

    March 19, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    I could not help but notice that you published an Orthodox Icon of St. Patrick.. if you don’t mind my asking, are you Orthodox?
    Our orthodox community always puts on ethnic food events, Greek, Arabic, Syrian etc..
    If you were, or had any knowledge of these events, maybe include some of these recipes in your menus, I could make them for my Palestinian husband or upscale the recipe and serve them at church?

    Thanx, Erika

     
    • Eel

      March 19, 2010 at 5:48 pm

      Thank you for your post Erika! I will keep this in mind during my next menu creation! Thank you!

       

Leave a Reply

