RSS

Pecan Over-Night French Toast

04 Nov

  • 1 Large  French Bread
  • 6 – 8 eggs
  • 2 cup Heavy Cream
  • 1 cup Milk
  • 2 tablespoons Sugar
  • pinch Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg

Butter a 9 X 13 Casserole. Slice french bread into 20 slices (less if you’re using a smaller pan or have a small loaf or want thicker slices). Mix remaining ingredients until well blended but not too bubbly. Dip each slice of bread in the milk mixture and overlap in casserole in a semi-standing position.  Pour remaining milk mixture over bread. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Add 1 T vanilla to milk mixture if you like.

Prepare topping:

  • 1 Cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 Cup softened butter
  • 2 TBS light Karo syrup
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 Cup packed light brown sugar.

Mix all ingredients and spread over the top of the French Toast.

Bake for 45 minutes at 350 until raised and golden brown.

 
40 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2010 in Breads, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

40 responses to “Pecan Over-Night French Toast

  1. bluemixer

    November 4, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    I love that you can prepare this at night and throw it in the oven for breakfast. I’m curious, though, no eggs?

     
    • Eel

      November 4, 2010 at 2:13 pm

      Oh my gosh! Thank you for catching this. The photo addition cut out the eggs ingredient. All fixed! Thank you!

       
      • bluemixer

        November 4, 2010 at 2:16 pm

        No problem. I’m definitely going to try this recipe next time we have overnight guests. 🙂

         
  2. janemaynard

    November 5, 2010 at 9:35 am

    hi there! just wanted to let you know we featured this post on FoodPress.com today – it looks downright scrumptious! Thank you!

     
    • Eel

      November 5, 2010 at 9:50 am

      I am super excited! I Tweeted a thank you to you! I’m seriously on cloud 9. Thanks so very much!

       
    • sannekurz

      November 8, 2010 at 1:35 am

      …and thanks for featuring! – would have never found this yummie treasure otherwise!!

       
  3. Vanessa Rima

    November 5, 2010 at 9:59 am

    Seems delicious!

    Vanessa Rima
    http://www.fashionissima.com

     
  4. Club Dine In!

    November 5, 2010 at 10:40 am

    looks really good! What is Karo syrup?

     
    • Eel

      November 5, 2010 at 11:05 am

      Hi, thank you! Karo Syrup is a light corn syrup used mostly for sweet toppings.

      According to http://www.karosyrup.com/faq.html

      “Corn syrup is a mildly sweet, concentrated solution of dextrose and other sugars derived from corn starch. It is naturally sweet. Corn syrup contains between 15% to 20% dextrose (glucose) and a mixture of various other types of sugar.”

      I hope this helps!

       
      • Club Dine In!

        November 8, 2010 at 8:01 pm

        thanks, will have to look into it and try out the recipe.

         
  5. Charlotte

    November 5, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Yum!!! I decided this summer that I was going to be the french-toast queen of my family as my ‘breakfast specialty,’ so thanks for helping me to add another method to my repertoire! I made a french toast strata over the weekend and posted it, if you are interested: http://feedingfarley.wordpress.com

    Again, thanks for the scrumptious looking addition to french-toast-making fanatics!

     
    • Eel

      November 5, 2010 at 1:53 pm

      You’re very welcome! Thank you for your link too.

       
  6. Lea Ann

    November 5, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Hi there. Saw your post on Food Press. This dish looks amazing. Gotta give it a try. I’m also going to be a new subscriber. Great blog.

     
    • Eel

      November 5, 2010 at 6:26 pm

      Hi, thank you so much! I am happy to have you!

       
  7. NK

    November 6, 2010 at 9:45 am

    Dear GOD this looks good. Definitely going to try it out next weekend – thanks for the beautiful picture and post.

     
    • Eel

      November 6, 2010 at 9:56 am

      You’re very welcome! Thank you for commenting.

       
  8. manda63

    November 6, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    Found you on FoodPress – this looks so yummy! I can’t wait to try it. Your blog is awesome! I’m sorta new to cooking and definitely on a budget. 🙂 You’ve made my favorites list already! Thank you!!!

     
    • Eel

      November 6, 2010 at 2:49 pm

      Hi! Thank you! Glad to have you here. Ask me any questions you may have.

       
  9. Grace

    November 6, 2010 at 1:16 pm

    yum! i’m totally trying it! though pecans are not a favorite in my house and will probably switch to walnuts.

    can’t wait have this for breakfast tomorrow.

     
    • Eel

      November 6, 2010 at 2:51 pm

      Oh yummy, walnuts!! I have also made this recipe by putting the topping on the bottom of a greased pan then layering the bread and egg mix on top of it. Like a pineapple upside down cake.

       
      • Grace

        November 6, 2010 at 2:54 pm

        That’s such a great idea. clearly you’re full of em! I love your recipe for cinnamon chicken. i honestly would have never thought to pair the two – which is weird because i use nutmeg on chicken all the time. simple and yummy. perfect!

         
  10. Jeanette

    November 6, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Oh my gosh, I’m going to have to try this the next time I have a group over. I think its WAY too much for just one…

    You think this would work in a smaller portion, just as well?

     
    • Eel

      November 6, 2010 at 2:48 pm

      Hi Jeanette, that is a really good question!
      If you use a small pan (Perhaps a 8×8) and lower the ingredients to fit, I believe it would indeed make a smaller portion!

       
  11. the domestic fringe

    November 6, 2010 at 3:33 pm

    This sounds really good. I have family coming for a visit at the end of the month and I think I’ll try it. Thanks!
    -FringeGirl

     
  12. msyoungmd

    November 6, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    OH Dear Lord this looks so good.. I cannot wait to try it. 🙂 thanks for sharing…

     
  13. Ricardo

    November 6, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    Yes it looks delicious and maybe a Smart diet solution would make a good match for them.

     
  14. rsmacaalay

    November 7, 2010 at 12:53 am

    That food looks adorable and mouth watering, thanks for sharing this great recipe, I cant wait to try it out!

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

     
  15. Cristina @ TeenieCakes

    November 7, 2010 at 9:10 am

    Came across your post from FoodPress – what a delicious looking French toast. I can’t wait to try it! 🙂

     
  16. Mette Weber

    November 7, 2010 at 12:16 pm

    It should not be allowed to show thispicture on a sunday night, not able to buy what I need to make it and too tired to make it 😉 Its a must to try another day

     
  17. Marge Cirinelli

    November 7, 2010 at 12:25 pm

    This looks sooooo amazingly delicious! I can’t wait to try this recipe! Thanks for sharing:)

     
  18. jazziefizzle

    November 7, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    yum! that looks fantastic!

     
  19. thehudsonsister

    November 8, 2010 at 8:52 am

    Made this for yesterday’s breakfast and OH MY G*D was it good! Thank you! My husband thanks you too. And so does my dad. Wow.

     
    • Eel

      November 8, 2010 at 10:23 am

      How awesome! I’m super happy they loved it! Way to go!!

       
  20. Club Dine In!

    November 8, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    i just drooled a little! I will have to give this a try once I get over my pumpkin pancake addiction.

     
  21. Mr.Weightloss

    November 11, 2010 at 8:57 am

    that’s good idea! Thanks

     

Leave a Reply

