RSS

Cherry Brownies

12 Dec

I really needed a mandolin to slice fennels for my Thanksgiving feast so I drove to St. Peter during our first snow fall to visit Cooks and Company. Upon entering the store for the first time I immediately could smell that something wonderful had been baking! As I rounded the corner I could see a tray of brownies next to the cashier’s desk. The sweet woman who made the treats cut me a bar and I put it on a plate, grabbed a fork and brought a piece to my mouth. The first bite was so delicious I was already thinking about having one more. I asked the woman where she got the recipe from and she told me a story about how she used to volunteer at a nursing home many years ago and there had been an elderly lady who lived there that gave her the recipe. The cashier had cute recipe cards printed out on shiny, pink card stock for people to take home, I took two.

This recipe was passed down from a woman at the end on her life, to another woman who would open a kitchen utensil business, to me who writes a food blog, and now to you… my readers. Enjoy!

  • 1 box of Devils Food Cake Mix
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Can of Cherry Pie Filling
  • 1 tsp Almond Extract

Stir all together in a mixing bowl. Spread in a jelly roll pan. Bake at 350 for 18-20 minutes

Easy Fudge Frosting

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 5 TBS butter
  • 1/3 cup milk

In a small saucepan, stir the above ingredients together, bringing to a boil. Boil 1 minute.

Remove from heat and add 1 Cup Chocolate Chips. Stir until smooth. Immediately pour over brownies.

Refrigerate to cool and set the frosting.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2010 in Baking, Brunch, Dinner, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “Cherry Brownies

  1. Babygirl

    December 12, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Who doesn’t love brownies.. I love this post

     
  2. Dimah

    December 14, 2010 at 2:06 am

    Looks absolutely delicious and yummy!
    Congrats on the top 9!

     
  3. jennynoowyn

    December 14, 2010 at 3:04 am

    ooooh… cherry brownies, I think this is my weakness…

     
  4. Kita

    December 14, 2010 at 8:18 am

    These look amazing. Beautiful picture and brownies with cherries? Yeah, I could get into that. mmm

     
  5. Heather

    December 14, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Stunning photo! These look so good.

     
  6. Kristin

    December 14, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Gorgeous photograph! These look so delicious.

     
  7. Billie

    December 21, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    I made these and wow, they are delicious. BUT they are not brownie like at all in consistency. They are more like the most delicious cake i have EVER had, but not brownie at all. I’m thinking I’m going to try to add an extra egg and see how that changes it up. Oh and the frosting is divine. I used hershey kisses for the chocolate because that’s all I had, and it came out wonderful. Can’t stop eating!

     
    • Eel {SpiceOpolis}

      December 22, 2010 at 9:56 am

      I’m so glad you enjoyed the recipe! Post back with any improvements you make!

       

Leave a Reply

